This Lousy World

This Lousy World

 

Today was one of those days.  I woke up in a crummy mood. Everything bothered me. I was teaching yoga and did not want my bad mood to shine through. I was tired. I was sore. I was just feeling bleh. I found that in the 1 hour I was awake getting ready to start my day, everything was bothering me, from the way my house was looking, to how my dogs were barking at the neighbors, to stressing out as to whether the 8 am class was going to jive with what I had planned to do, and wondering if I should just scrap it and teach a basic class today. We all have our moments when we might complain about the weather, complain about someone talking too loud at a restaurant, or our pet peeves. However, these negative thoughts may actually start to dominate many of our conversations with ourselves, with others, and maybe its just about time to shift this mindset so that we are no longer looking to eternal forces for happiness. In this 2 minute video, my favorite girl & Buddhist Monk, Pema Chodron, provides and interesting analogy explaining why we shifting our mindset is so important. I like to come back to this video, when I am feel that I am in a negative place…instead of going to that adolescent mindset of wanting to escape and retreat, there is another answer–thinking differently about these situations. CLICK THE LINK ABOVE…if that doesn’t work, copy and paste the link below…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=buTrsK_ZkvA

 

Leave a Reply

