“When we get too caught up in the business of the world, we lose connection with one another – and ourselves.” ― Jack Kornfield

After taking a fall down the stairs leaving a yoga class yesterday morning, today I spend the day on the couch resting my sprained ankle. I have 2 dogs staring at me wondering, “Why is she home?” Maybe this was a wake up call.

Not only my body being forced to rest, so is my mind. Of course, it is thinking of a million things I can accomplish via emails, but truly, it does not need to work right now, it probably needs to slow down. But who wants to slow down? A couple of hours rest feels like an eternity to me. But this is the problem and it is probably the cause of my fall. I was talking a mile a minute after class, about who knows what, thinking about where I was going next, all while reviewing yoga sequences in my brain. Just like everyone else..constantly going, going and going. Is it all too much? Because we are programmed to think there is always more to do, more to think about..and we keep jamming it all in until…something wakes us up.

All of the noise going on in my brain caused me to lose focus, and stumble down. Now, I am very out of my comfort zone and this is truly testing my patience, as I do not like to relax (: But the more we do, the faster we go, and the more we multitask, are we actually accomplishing anything other than detachment from ourselves and others?

So this minor incident is forcing me to stop, relax, calm down, and appreciate what is at least for a couple days. It’s a well needed time to reconnect with myself, and I will view the day as such, returning to my routine hopefully with clarity and new perspective.

Painted caution on road to slow down

Leave a Reply

